Team Positions after the Finals Series
 YEAR  1st  2nd  3rd  4th  5th  6th  7th  8th  9th  10th 
  2008 Swifts Magic Thunderbirds Vixens Firebirds Steel Mystics Tactix Fever Pulse 
 > 2008 Full Results  > 2008 Summary Statistics

The ANZ Championship was launched in 2008 with ten teams (five from New Zealand, five from Australia), and succeeds two national leagues: Australiaís Commonwealth Bank Trophy (1997-2007), and New Zealandís National Bank Cup (1998-2007).

The competition is owned by Trans-Tasman Netball League Ltd (TTNL), a joint venture of Netball Australia and Netball New Zealand.

Netball has the highest participation rate of any womenís sport in both countries. Australia and New Zealand have dominated the international history of netball, between them winning every World Championship title since 1963. The ANZ Championship is the first semi-professional netball competition in Australasia.

More information about the competition draw and structure.

Victorious NSW Swifts captain Catherine Cox with the ANZ Championship Trophy after the first Grand Final, played in Sydney on 28 July 2008. The trophy was designed by Nick Sampson and his team at DNA, the agency responsible for the ANZ Championship logo and branding.

ANZ Championship Fan Club

Official Merchandise

Official Merchandise