Round Robin
The 2008 ANZ Championship comprises a total of 69 games played over 17 weeks from 5 April to 28 July.

It begins with a 14-week round robin competition.
Each team will play 13 games, including at least six home games during these rounds.
Each Australian team will play each of the Australian teams twice, and the New Zealand teams once.
Each New Zealand team will play the other New Zealand teams twice, and each of the Australian teams once.

Finals Series
The ANZ Championship will end with finals held over three weeks in July 2008.
During this series the top four teams (1, 2, 3 & 4) at the end of the round robin competition will play two Semi-Finals,
followed by a Preliminary Final and the Grand Final.

Week 15: Semi-Finals
Major Semi-Final: 1 (Host Team) vs 2
Minor Semi-Final: 3 (Host Team) vs 4
Winner of 1 vs 2 goes directly into the Grand Final; loser goes to the Preliminary Final.
Winner of 3 vs 4 contests the Preliminary Final against the loser of the Major Semi-Final

Week 16: Preliminary Final
The Preliminary Final will then be hosted by the loser of the Major Semi-Final against the winner of the Minor Semi-Final.

Week 17: Grand Final
The Grand Final will be hosted by the winner of the Major Semi-Final against the winner of the Preliminary Final.

Competition Points
Win = 2 points; Loss = 0 points.There are no bonus points in the ANZ Championship.
All games must play to a result: no draws are permitted.
Each team has a bye during Rounds 5 to 9.

Extra Time
In the event that teams are tied at fulltime in a game, extra time will be played.

A three minute interval follows the full time whistle, and then two periods of seven minutes will be played,
with no interval between periods.

If teams are still drawn at the end of the second period of seven minutes, play will continue uninterrupted
until one team has a two-goal advantage. This period is referred to as extended extra time.

To indicate that the game has entered the period of extended extra time described above, an orange flag
will be placed on the score bench.

The intervals are:
First quarter break = 4 minutes
Half-time break = 10 minutes
Three-quarter break = 4 minutes

Stoppages for injury or illness (international rule change)
The first stoppage for each team per quarter is up to two minutes. The player may be treated and
may remain on court. In each subsequent stoppage for each team in a quarter (or extra time periods),
the break lasts 30 seconds.
The injured or ill player must leave the court. The injured or ill player may be substituted or the position left vacant.
No coaching is permitted during any stoppage.
The Primary Care person for the team is the only person who may go on court.
The team manager can come to courtside to provide rehydration.

Rankings after the round robin games
Teams will be ranked after the round robin games according to competition points,
with the top ranked team becoming team 1 in the semi-finals and so on.

If teams are even on points at the conclusion of the round robin, teams will be ranked by goal percentages,
calculated to two decimal places.

If two teams are still equal after goal percentage, the results of matches between the two teams will decide
the higher ranked team.

If the teams are still equal, then they are measured by goal difference across all games (goals for minus goals against).

If two teams are still equal, the higher ranked team will be the one with most goals for all games in the round robin.

Umpires from Australia and New Zealand are contracted for the 2008 ANZ Championship.

Games that are played in Australia will be officiated by Australian umpires,while games in New Zealand
will be officiated by New Zealand umpires.

At the end of the home and away season, the best two umpires from each country will create a pool of four,
to officiate the Finals Series.

Most Valuable Player (MVP) Award
Voting for the Most Valued Player or MVP award begins in Round 1 and finishes at the conclusion of Round 14.

The Head Coach of each ANZ Championship team is required to submit their votes.

The Head Coach names the most outstanding player on court from each team in each of three areas:
shooters, mid court and defenders, and then selects one of these three to be their overall MVP of the match.

The player selected as the best in each area are awarded two points each, while the overall match MVP
receives a further two points. The player with the most points at the end of Round 14 is the ANZ Championship

Most Valuable Player.

These awards will be kept confidential throughout the Competition and announced at the end of the competition.

There may be a number of media/broadcast awards that are separate to the official MVP.


ANZ Championship Fan Club

Official Merchandise

Official Merchandise