Rivalry Round

The concept is simple - for one round the total number of goals scored by all five Australian and all five New Zealand teams is added up, and the country with the highest cumulative score wins the Rivalry Round Trophy.

Rivalry Round was introduced in 2009 and proved a great success, with the inaugural contest coming down to the last game of Round 13. In a round which saw a total of 500 goals scored across the five games, Australia won the trophy by just nine goals, and a tradition was born.

This year, it was Australia who once again came out on top. Australian teams took out four of the five games of Round 4, although they had to withstand some valiant efforts by the New Zealand contingent, who were playing for national pride as much as the all-important ANZ Championship points.

The final goal tallies at the conclusion of the round were:

Australia 288 goals
New Zealand 230 goals

The 2010 Rivalry Round Trophy was presented to Queensland Firebirds captain Lauren Nourse (pictured right), who accepted the trophy on behalf of her country.


10 April 2010 Waikato/BOP Magic (55) defeated West Coast Fever (50)
10 April 2010 NSW Swifts (50) defeated Central Pulse (36)
11 April 2010 Adelaide Thunderbirds (53) defeated Ascot Park Hotel Southern Steel (36)
12 April 2010 Melbourne Vixens (64) defeated Mercury Energy Tactix (49)
12 April 2010 Queensland Firebirds (71) defeated LG Mystics (54)