Best Young Player

Congratulations to 2011 Best Young Player, Kayla Cullen of the LG Mystics!  Kayla was announced as the winner of the award on 18 May 2011 - click here to read the story.
The Best Young Player Award was introduced in 2010 to recognise the future stars of the ANZ Championship. Sharni Layton (Adelaide Thunderbirds) was named the inaugural Best Young Player on the eve of the 2010 ANZ Championship Grand Final. Click here to read about Sharni's excitement at her surprise announcement!

To be eligible for Best Young Player nomination, players must be aged 25 years or younger as at 1 January of that year, must not have played more than five games in total across any previous ANZ Championship season, and must not have represented their country in more than five test matches.
Judging Process
An expert panel of judges comprising national selectors and broadcast commentators will be given the short-list of five nominees based on meeting the above selection criteria.
At the conclusion of the regular rounds, the judges will be asked to rank the nominees from 5, 4, 3, 2 and 1 based on the criteria below (5 being the player that best represents the four criteria listed below).
The votes from the four judges will then be compiled, with the player awarded the highest number of votes declared the ANZ Championship's Best Young Player for 2011.  The winner will be announced during Grand Final week.
Voting Criteria
  • Possessions/statistics in relation to others in their position
  • Potential to become an ANZ Championship 'stalwart' player
  • Potential to attain international status
  • Value to their team