The ANZ Championship was launched in 2008 with ten teams (five from Australia and five from New Zealand). It succeeded two national leagues; Australia's Commonwealth Bank Trophy (1997-2007), and New Zealand's National Bank Cup (1998-2007).

The competition is owned by Trans-Tasman Netball League Ltd (TTNL), a joint venture of Netball Australia and Netball New Zealand.

Netball has the highest participation rate of any women's sport in both countries. Australia and New Zealand have dominated the international history of netball, between them winning every World Championship title since 1963. The ANZ Championship is the first semi-professional netball competition in Australasia.

View historical results: