Latest News

Trans-Tasman Netball League to discontinue after current season

Netball Australia and Netball New Zealand have confirmed that the existing ANZ Championship format will discontinue after the current 2016 season, with both organisations to form national netball leagues in their respective countries.
Netball New Zealand will form a new competition with the five current New Zealand ANZ Championship teams, plus a new team based in the greater Auckland area.
The six-team competition will be a triple round robin, with teams playing 15 round robin games before it culminates in a two-game Finals Series with the top three teams.
Netball Australia will form a new competition with the five current Australian ANZ Championship teams, as well as three new teams. The preferred bidders for these teams are Collingwood Football Club, Melbourne Storm Rugby League Club and Netball NSW in a strategic alliance with GWS Giants.
There will be 60 games played in Australia’s new national netball league from February.
Netball Australia and Netball Zealand are exploring the options to retain some Trans-Tasman crossover between their respective national leagues.
The ANZ Championship, with the support of all of its stakeholders, has provided a strong platform for the future growth of netball in both Australia and New Zealand in these exciting times for the sport.  
The focus continues to remain on making 2016 the biggest and best ANZ Championship in its history as a key part in the evolution of the sport leading into 2017.

Categories: All NewsNumber of views: 14979