Latest News

New Zealand announces Commonwealth Games Team

The team that will represent New Zealand at the 2014 Glasgow Commonwealth Games was announced earlier today.

The Northern Mystics top the ANZ Championship teams having four players named in the squad, followed by Kia Magic and Haier Pulse with three players each. Southern Steel round out the team with the final two players.

Here are the players to represent New Zealand at the Commonwealth Games:

Mystics – Anna Harrison, Laura Langman, Cathrine Latu & Maria Tutaia

Magic – Leana de Bruin, Ellen Halpenny & Casey Kopua

Pulse – Katrina Grant, Joline Henry & Liana Leota

Steel – Jodi Brown & Shannon Francois

Kia Magic shooter Ellen Halpenny is the new cap for the New Zealand team and is joined by Leota and Harrison who have been recalled into the New Zealand side.  Leota last played for New Zealand in 2011 while Harrison missed the 2013 international season due to pregnancy.

Kia Magic leader Kopua will captain the side in Glasgow, with Langman named as vice-captain.

New Zealand Netball coach Waimarama Taumaunu said there were some tough selection decisions but that she and the National Selectors were confident the 12 players selected provided a strong combination of youth and experience.

“We are pleased to be able to name a new cap in the team, Ellen has had a very strong ANZ Championship season with the Magic, her addition to the side means we have cover for both GA and GS,” Taumaunu said.

Ellen Halpenny, Cathrine Latu, Shannon Francois and Jodi Brown will all be attending their first Commonwealth Games for New Zealand. Brown was named in the New Zealand team in 2006, but was forced to withdraw due to injury while Cathrine Latu has previously represented Samoa at a Commonwealth Games.

Categories: All NewsNumber of views: 17323