Latest News

Grand Final Preview: Firebirds v Swifts

Date:  Sunday 27 July
Time: 12.00pm (local time)
Venue: Brisbane Entertainment Centre, Boondall
Broadcast:  Channel 10 (ONE in WA), Fox Sports Australia 3, SKY Sport NZ 1 and the Netball Live App.
Match Centre:
Hashtags: #ANZCGF #FIRvSWI


This is it, the moment we have been waiting for all season, the 2016 ANZ Championship Grand Final!

We don’t blame you if you feel deja-vu, the stage has been set for another cracking contest, with last year’s winners and runners up meeting again in Brisbane. Last year only one goal separated the two, will we see another edge-of-your-seat contest?

History will be made in the last ever ANZ Championship game. The Firebirds have the potential to be the only team in the history of the ANZ Championship to go back-to-back and win three titles.

The Swifts won the inaugural ANZ Championship trophy, can they bookend the league with winning the last ever trophy also? Other than the historical motivations, it’s also about redemption and avenging last year’s result for the Swifts.

This will be the fourth time these two face-off for the season. The Firebirds have the upper hand including an 11-goal win in the Australian Conference Final only two weeks ago. The Swifts will have their work cut out for them, having never won in Brisbane. The Firebirds have never lost a final in Brisbane.

If last year’s ANZ Championship Grand Final is any indication of how today’s contest will play out, prepare for an intense (and loud) battle! Will it be the Firebirds or the Swifts who claim the glory?


Goal shooter Romelda Aiken is only five goals off scoring a career total 5000 goals. Aiken, who has played with the Firebirds since their inaugural ANZ Championship season, will become the league’s highest ever scoring shooter.

Captain Kimberlee Green played her first full match since Round 5 this season, in the Swifts’ Semi-Final clash with the Cold Power Magic. She didn’t miss a beat in the sixty-minute performance, acting as an important linking component in the Swifts’ midcourt.


  • Overall, the head-to-head ledger favours the reigning premiers, having won 14 out of 21 meetings across nine years of the ANZ Championship.

  • This is the first time two teams have faced off in a Grand Final rematch

  • The Firebirds have a record of ten wins and three losses from their 13 ANZ Championship Finals Series matches.

  • The Swifts have a record of six wins and seven losses across their 13 ANZ Championship Finals Series matches.

  • Kimberlee Green and Susan Pettitt are the last remaining members of the inagurual 2008 title winning side.

  • Three players from the Firebirds 2011 title will be involved in Sunday’s Grand Final – captain Laura Geitz, Clare McMeniman and Romelda Aiken.

Categories: All NewsNumber of views: 2964

Tags: FirebirdsSwifts