Latest News

ANZ Championship in numbers

The final chapter of the ANZ Championship has come to a close, after nine action-packed seasons of trans-Tasman competition.

Since 2008, over, 1.7 million fans have attended games in 34 venues across Australia and New Zealand to cheer on their teams.

The league recorded a live television audience across Australia and New Zealand of 54.3 million viewers over its duration.

The 2016 Grand Final alone saw over 411,000 fans tune in to watch The Coffee Club Queensland Firebirds and NSW Swifts battle into extended extra-time.

There were 292 talented athletes who took to the court, with 27 athletes recording 100 games or more, showing extraordinary commitment to the game.

Our goalers shot a staggering 65,494 goals over 294 games across the league’s history.

The ANZ Championship had 28 coaches at the helm over the league’s history, with five teams based in Australia and five teams based in New Zealand.

Romelda Aiken, Caitlin Bassett, Emily Beaton, Shae Browne, Leana de Bruin, Rebecca Bulley, Bianca Chatfield, Julie Corletto, Irene van Dyk, Wendy Frew, Laura Geitz, Katrina Grant, Kimberlee Green, Joline Henry, Renae Ingles, Casey Kopua, Sharni Layton, Laura Langman, Natalie Medhurst, Geva Mentor, Susan Pettitt, Grace Rasmussen, Madi Robinson, Anna Thompson, Caitlin Thwaites, Maria Tutaia, Cathrine Tuivaiti.

Categories: All NewsNumber of views: 1962


News Menu



Firebirds261 Swifts258 Magic211 Vixens200 Fever196 Thunderbirds193 Mystics188 Pulse184 Steel181 Tactix157
Broadcasting Information