About Us

Since bursting on to the Australian and New Zealand sporting landscapes in 2008, the ANZ Championship has rapidly established itself as one of the region's hottest competitions.

Featuring some of the world's best netballers in a feast of trans-Tasman rivalry, the ANZ Championship is a true showcase of speed, skill, athleticism and teamwork.

From March to July, five Australian and five New Zealand teams battle it out over 14 home and away rounds, followed by the fiercely contested Finals Series.

The NSW Swifts were the inaugural ANZ Championship premiers, beating the Waikato/Bay of Plenty Magic in a thrilling showdown at Sydney's Acer Arena. 

In 2009, it was the Melbourne Vixens who held the championship trophy aloft after defeating the Adelaide Thunderbirds in an all-Australian Grand Final at Hisense Arena.

The Adelaide Thunderbirds returned with a vengeance and claimed the 2010 ANZ Championship defeating Waikato/Bay of Plenty Magic at the Adelaide Entertainment Centre.

In 2011, the Queensland Firebirds took out the trophy defeating the Northern Mystics at the Brisbane Convention and Exhibition Centre.

After four consecutive Australian victories, 2012 finally saw a New Zealand team take out the ANZ Championship with Waikato/Bay of Plenty Magic defeating the Melbourne Vixens on their home turf of Hisense Arena by just three goals.

In 2013 the Adelaide Thunderbirds made history by becoming the only team so far to win the ANZ Championship twice.

In 2014, the Melbourne Vixens reclaimed the trophy by defeating the Queensland Firebirds at Hisense Arena.

In 2015, the Queensland Firebirds became the second team to take home the ANZ Championship trophy twice.

Sub Menu